Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Экспортируете товары из Китая? Готовьтесь к потере товарного знака.

Copyright vs Trademarks

Для специалистов и адвокатов в сфере интеллектуальной собственности Китай является ночным кошмаром. Почему? Потому что в Китае закон о товарных знаках - это не “кто первый использовал, тот и владелец”, а “кто первый подался на регистрацию, тот и владелец”. Таким образом, любой, кто подается на регистрацию вашего знака в Китае до вас, обладает большими правами на знак, каким бы известным в вашей стране знак ни был.

Казалось бы, что это не такая уж и большая проблема, так как такой закон есть во многих странах. Однако далеко не во всех странах вернуть себе права на знак настолько сложно.

В чем заключается потенциальная опасность при экспорте из Китая? Некоторые производители могут использовать недобросовестные методы, и когда вы оформите у них заказ, они подадут заявку на регистрацию вашего знака в Китае. Вы осуществляете первый заказ в Китае, экспортируете товары и продаете их в вашей стране, ваш бизнес растет, вы оформляете все больше заказов, осуществляете продажу за границей, а потом узнаете, что в Китае вашим знаком обладает ваш производитель. Тогда и начинаются проблемы. Производитель заявляет, что данный знак принадлежит ему и предлагает вам приобрести его за значительную сумму денег. Вы находите адвоката и возбуждаете процедуру аннулирования в Китае, что может стоить от US$3000 до US$100000. На аннулирование может уйти несколько лет, в течение этого времени в суде выносятся решения, подаются апелляции и контрапелляции. Нельзя сказать заранее, кто выиграет дело, все зависит от конкретного случая.

Так что если вы каким-либо образом намереваетесь сотрудничать с Китаем, даже если вы не запустите там товары в коммерческое производство, зарегистрировать свой знак в этой стране вы должны. Стоимость регистрации составляет до US$459 (на 10 лет) и обезопасит вас от траты времени и денег в будущем. Отнеситесь к этой инвестиции как к своего рода страховке, как к шагу, который нужно предпринять, чтобы обеспечить охрану своего знака на одном из самых важных рынков в мире.

Задать вопрос

Our service

International Trademark Search

Check if your trademark is available for registration.

Регистрация международных товарных марок

Protecting your trademark is the most important investment you can make.

International Trademark Watch

Be informed of recently applied similar or identical trademarks.

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy.

read more

Exporting from China? Prepare to lose your trademark.

Ask Us

Copyright vs Trademarks

China is a nightmare for intellectual property specialists and attorneys. Why? Because Chinese Trademark Law is not “first to use” as in the US and Canada, but “first to file”. Thus, anyone who files your trademark in China before you has more rights to use it, no matter how popular it is in your country.

 

It doesn’t seem to be such a great problem, since many countries are “first to file”. However, in very few countries it is so difficult to have the trademark returned to the original owner.

What is the hidden risk of exporting from China? Some of the producers may be involved in unfair practices and file your trademark in China at the moment of receiving your order. You place your first order in China, export goods and sell them in your country, your business grows, you order more and more, expand to different countries and then suddenly realize that in China your producer owns your trademark. And here starts the difficult part. The producer claims that this is his trademark and offers you to buy it from him for a significant amount of money. You find an attorney and initiate a cancellation procedure in China, the cost of which starts from US$3000 and can go up to US$100000. The cancellation lasts for years; there are decisions of court, appeals and counter-appeals. Who will win in the end? No one knows for sure, each case is different.

 

Therefore, filing your trademark in China is a must, if you plan to work somehow with this country, no matter if you plan to commercialize your products in the country or no. A trademark can be filed for as little as US$349 (for 10 years) and will save you a lot of time and money in the future. Treat this investment as some kind of insurance, as an action, which should be taken in order to ensure protection of your trademark in the one of the most important markets in the world.

© Copyright, 2016. Bonamark.com (VI).

Our Services

International Trademark Search

Check if your trademark is available for registration.

International Trademark Registration

Protecting your trademark is the most important investment you can make.

International Trademark Watch

Be informed of recently applied similar or identical trademarks.