Товарные знаки, содержащие оскорбления

Ask Us

Если товарный знак “представляет собой или содержит аморальные, вводящие в заблуждение или оскорбительные элементы; или элементы, которые могут унизить или ввести в заблуждение относительно людей, живых или мертвых, учреждений, вероисповеданий, национальных символов”, то его не зарегистрируют в США. Из-за этого правила 6 товарных знаков, содержащих в себе слово “Redskins”, были раскритикованы.

Washington Redskins - знаменитая футбольная команда, товарный знак которой был зарегистрирован в 1933. Несмотря на то, что знаки были зарегистрированы, с 1992 года “на протяжении двух десятилетий велась тяжба против их охраноспособности”, когда группа коренных американцев подала заявку на их аннулирование.

Казалось, что знаки и будут аннулированы, пока музыкальная группа "The Slants" не заявила, что пункт Закона Лэнхэма, на который ссылались коренные американцы, противоречит  конституции и налагает ограничение на свободу слова, что идет вразрез с Первой поправкой. К удивлению, Верховный суд принял к сведению данный контраргумент и позволил товарным знакам, содержащим оскорбления, существовать и дальше.

Bonamark предоставляет услуги в сфере товарных знаков в США.

Наши Услуги

Поиск международных товарных знаков

Проверьте возможность регистрации Вашей торговой марки.

Регистрация международных товарных марок

Защита вашей торговой марки - это самая важная инвестиция, которую вы можете сделать.

Наблюдение за товарными марками по всему миру

Будьте в курсе недавно примененных аналогичных или идентичных товарных знаков.

Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Disparaging Trademarks

If a trademark "Consists of or comprises immoral, deceptive, or scandalous matter; or matter which may disparage or falsely suggest a connection with persons, living or dead, institutions, beliefs, or national symbols, or bring them into contempt, or disrepute" it cannot be registered in the US. Due to this rule, the 6 trademarks containing "Redskins" were attacked.

The "Washington Redskins" are a well-known football team, the trademarks are in use since 1933. Nevertheless, even though that the trademarks managed to registered, "the registrability of the Marks has been litigated for over two decades", since 1992, when a group of Native Americans filed a cancellation against the trademark.

It seemed that the trademarks should have been cancelled, till the last case of the musical group "The Slants", which argued that the cited paragraph of the Lanham Act is an unconstitutional restriction on free speech and is facially invalid under the Free Speech Clause of the First Amendment. Surprisingly, the Supreme Court accepted the arguments and might allow Disparaging Trademarks to exist.

Bonamark offers trademark services in the USA.

Ask us

Our service

International Trademark Search

Check if your trademark is available for registration.

International Trademark Registration

Protecting your trademark is the most important investment you can make.

International Trademark Watch

Be informed of recently applied similar or identical trademarks.

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

By using our site you accept the terms of our Privacy Policy.

read more